Our network

Three mayors named in November election | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Three mayors named in November election
Three mayors named in November election

MUSKEGON COUNTY, Mich.—Montague has a new mayor.

Tuesday night, voters elected A. James Neubauer to the office.  Neubauer took 31 percent of the vote, besting Calvin Cederquist, Kenneth Erdman and incumbent Kevin Erb for the two year term.

Erb took over as mayor of Montague in 2011, despite narrowly losing to incumbent, Henry Roesler Jr., who died days before the election.  According to state law, votes cast for a dead candidate cannot be counted.

In Muskegon, Stephen Gawron, who has been serving out former mayor Steve Warmington’s term,  will remain mayor.  Gawron took 71 percent of the vote to Zawdie Abiade’s 29 percent. 

In North Muskegon,  Chris Witham will remain mayor.  Witham took all 545 votes in Tuesday night’s election.  Withham has served as mayor since 2004.

In other contested races, Jan Koens narrowly beat James Beckman for a seat on the North Muskegon city council, 548 votes to 540 votes.  Bill Mogren was also elected to a three year term on the council, with 636 votes.

Muskegon’s Commissioners At Large now include Ken Johnson and Dan Sybenga.  Both men will serve a four year term.

In Whitehall, a charter amendment that would have limited city council members to 12 consecutive years in office, failed 57 percent to 43 percent.   Voters selected Tanya Cabala, Edward Whalen, Jeffrey Holmstrom and Stephen Sikkenga to the city council.

For a link to the entire election results, click here.

Muskegon Deals

Muskegon Businesses