Our network


Three Muskegon County Communities Head to the Polls today

MUSKEGON, Mi(WZZM)-Voters in Norton Shores, Egleston Township, and Cedar Creek Township, will head to the ballot boxes later today to vote on funding for fire and police services.

The city of Norton Shores is asking voters for a two mill increase for 10 years beginning this year.  The ballot proposal is expected to bring in over 1.5 million dollars  the first year if passed.  The city has said that passign the measure would help them restore fire and police staffing, and that if the millage fails more staffing cuts are likely.

Egleston township voters will determine if the township can build a new fire station.  Township officials are asking voters to allow them to borrow up to two point eight million dollars for the building of a new fire station.  That  amount includes possible land aquisition, destruction of buildings, and construction of a new fire station.

Cedar Creek voters are being asked for a property tax levy of 1.5 mil

Norton Shores Places Public Safety Millage Proposal on February Ballot

Norton Shores Places Public Safety Millage Proposal on February Ballot

NORTON SHORES, Mi(WZZM)-The city of Norton Shores is asking for a 2 mill increase for public safety in the February elections.  The millage would last for 10 years and cost the owner of a home valued at $127,600, $127 a year.

Two firefighters will be recalled to their jobs, and one firefighter position will be refilled if the millage passes.  Passage of the proposal would also allow the city to hire three police officers replace previously eliminated positions.

The city says if the millage does not pass there will be further services cut, and the possibility of a fire station closing.

Farewell planned for former congressman Pete Hoekstra

The Muskegon Area Chamber of Commerce will say goodbye to former congressman Pete Hoekstra this month.

A farewell celebration will take place at the new offices of Revel, located in Suite 200 at 900 Third Street, from 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, February 10. 

Visitors will also have a chance to meet local and regional officials recently elected into office.

Rep. Bill Huizenga to hold Town Hall Meeting

Rep. Bill Huizenga to hold Town Hall Meeting

Rep. Bill Huizenga will hold a town hall Meeting tonight at Muskegon Community College. 

The town hall will be in the Stevenson Center, from 6:30 PM to 7:30 PM, room 1100.

The event will include discussion on federal issues and recent events in Congress.


Muskegon Commissioners vote yes

Muskegon Commissioners vote yes

PLEASE NOTE: This article is the opinion of the author and in no way reflects the opinions of WZZM13 and its affiliates.

Muskegon County has added 5 new county commissioners. They have been on the job for less than 30 days and already new commissioner Alan Jager has earned the reputation as a NO man. What I wonder is WHY he is the only one?

UPDATE: Aasif Mandvi's Muskegon Show Cancelled

UPDATE: Aasif Mandvi's Muskegon Show Cancelled

Muskegon, Michigan (WZZM)- The March 12th appearance of The Daily Show with Jon Stewart correspondent Aasif Mandvi at the Frauenthal Theater in Muskegon is cancelled.  

Officially titled, Behind the Scenes of the REAL Fake News, Mandvi was expected to show how the writers and correspondents analyze the best and worst of each day's news.

StarTickets confirms face value refunds and facility fees for all tickets purchased by credit card will be refunded automatically. Service charges and handling fees are not refundable.

If you have questions, call StarTickets at 1-800-585-3737 or email customerservice@startickets.com

New Muskegon County Commissioners take office

New Muskegon County Commissioners take office

Tuesday January 4th Muskegon County citizens welcomed the newly elected Board Of Commissioners at a swearing in ceremony at the court house. Five new commissioners join the returning six to fill the eleven person board. The five new commissioners Anthony Longmire, Benjamin Cross, Scott Plummer, Rillastine Wilkins and Alan Jager will join Ken Mahoney, I. John Snider, Robert Scolnik, James Derezinski and Lewis Collins, and Marve Engle as leaders of the county.

This board that encouraged a nonpartisan working relationship elected a member of both the Democratic and Republican parties as their leaders for the next 2 years. Commissioners Mahoney and Snider both retain their positions as chairman and vice-chair respectively.

Newly elected Commissioner Ben Cross was joined by his family at the ceremony and the first meeting of the new board began with the Pledge of Allegiance lead by his children.